Mountaineering in Scotland: Years of Change

written by Ken Crocket


In Stock

From Ken Crocket, author of Mountaineering in ScotlandThe Early Years, comes the next instalment of Scottish mountaineering history, covering the period from 1914 to 1971 when there were many changes in the equipment and practice of summer and winter climbing and a significant rise in the difficulty of routes being established. Many new clubs were formed, and the number of participants increased dramatically. The book contains reference to the exploits of many well-known mountaineers who were responsible for raising the standards in Scottish climbing, including Murray, Patey, Marshall and Smith.


412 pages
84 illustrations
Size: 160 x 240 mm
ISBN: 978-1-907233-24-1
Published: 2017

About the author

Ken Crocket is the author of several current climbing guides in addition to a well-received history of Ben Nevis. He has been both the Editor of the Scottish Mountaineering Club Journal (1986-2000) and the club’s President (2000-2002). The first volume was published by the Scottish Mountaineering Trust in 2015.